Click on any image to enlarge
The Coast Guard aquired these 38-foot DUKWs begining in 1944 from the U.S.ARMY. They were nicknamed "ducks" by their Army operators as a twist on their actual designation "DUKW" which meant: (D) 1942, (U) utility vehicle, (K) front-wheel drive, and (W) two rear-drive axles.
They were all powered by a 90 horsepower 6-cylinder gasoline engine with a single propeller and in-line rudder. They displaced 16,380 pounds fully loaded and capable of a top speed of 55 mph on land, 12 mph across a sandy beach and up to 6 mph in the water.
In 1948 the USCG constructed additional DUKWs at the CGYard. These had aluminum bodies and incorporated the experience learned from using the Army models. These were especially useful in flood relief but all suffered from high maintenance costs, rapid deterioration due to salt water, and a lack of watertight subdivisions. Some remained in service as late as 1970.(USCG)
This photo is one of the first delivered and is at Coast Guard Station Chatham MA.
These boats were intended as the replacement for the DUKWs. They were 35 ft long, could travel 35mph on land and 9mph in the water. They could also operate in 10 foot high surf and climb a 60 percent grade on land. LARC stands for: (L)lighter, (A) amphibous, (R) resupply, and (C) cargo. The first three were accepted in 1963.
CHATHAM LIGHT STATION
Note LARC in driveway.
Larc entering Cape Cod Canal
Found recently in a very rusty state on Plum Island..
1800 Goldston Springs Rd ~ Puryear TN 38251-3711